How do you cope with a painful tattoo session?

Hi, it’s Graham here once again at Music2Tattoos!

Thanks for checking out this blog; if you’ve been here before welcome back and if you’re new – welcome! If you are new make sure you keep up to date by adding your email address to the box on the right of the screen and I’ll send you 2 F!ree ebooks just for signing up 🙂

Just so you know; I’ve moved my Monday blog to a Tuesday blog so that everyone (including me) can get over the weekends 🙂 SO if you were expecting the post yesterday….. sorry it’s here today!

For those of you that checked out and sent me messages on my bands cover songs; thank you I really appreciate it! You can now download them for Free by Clicking Here and remember to check out our Facebook Page by Clicking Here!

Its the first question on everyone’s lips when they go to get their first tattoo – “does it hurt?” and the honest answer is……….. it can do but it is dependent on so many things! So what do you do to cope if you’re having a tattoo and its painful?

I’ve just found out that Chopper Tattoos are giving away F!ree music downloads when you sign up to their site! Click Here now to head straight there!

I’ve had tattoos that didn’t hurt (actually I was lulled into a false sense of security because my first ever tattoo didn’t hurt a bit) and I’ve had ones that did hurt (my right upper arm was killing me by the time I’d been sat there 3 ½ hours!). I’ve found my own way to cope with the pain!

Check out this article by John Jason Anderson on the Art of Blocking Out the Pain!

Pain of tattoos varies depending on the person, the place, and sometimes the artist. Some people actually enjoy the sensation, and this could be due to higher levels of serotonin in the brain. The serotonin is a pain blocker that can lead to feelings of euphoria. This chemical reaction can lead to elimination of tattoo pain. Then there are some of us who do not have a high pain tolerance and the pain of a tattoo can be more intense. Then there are parts of the body that are very sensitive. These areas include ……………….. to read the rest of this article Click Here Now!

My own way of coping is to do the following:

• Make sure I’ve had sugar based products before hand – Coke, Chocolate etc (No this isn’t just an excuse to eat chocolate! This keeps your blood sugar levels up which can drop when you’re in pain!)
• I take a bottle of Coke in with me and keep sipping it – again keeping up my blood sugar levels
• I never look at the area while it’s being tattoo’d, focusing on it just focuses the pain
• I chat about anything and everything to the tattoo artist or a friend if one has come with me
• If all else fails I close my eyes and put myself somewhere else, somewhere that I enjoy being – usually up on stage with my band, rocking out!

I’d love to know what you do to cope with the pain, add a comment by clicking the little speech bubble at the top right of this post. It would be great if you’ve got a secret tip that everyone can benefit from! Go on, share the knowledge!

I was surprised to find out that Chopper Tattoos now offer F!ree music downloads when you sign up to their site – they certainly weren’t doing that when I signed up!!! So not only do you get thousands of awesome tattoos designs to search through, not only do you get the ability to search for your nearest and best tattoo parlours but now you get Free Music as well!!

Click Here now to head straight to Chopper Tattoos

********************************************************************************************************
Other Useful Tattoo Sites

Tattoo Me Now is one of the biggest archives of designs but also has a community of over 60000 people to get involved with

Get Rid Tattoo offers a natural way to remove those unwanted or poor quality tattoos! Got an ex’s name inked on to you that you want rid of? Then this is for you!

********************************************************************************************************

Until Next Time,
Remember to live life and have fun!
Graham

P.S. remember to sign up to follow my blog – put your email address in the box to the right of this post and I’ll send you 2 F!ree ebooks as a thank you – one of which contains some great info on tattoos!!

You can also follow me on Twitter @grahamnicholls5

And, of course, remember to head over to Chopper Tattoos and grab your F!ree music downloads when you sign up!!

3 thoughts on “How do you cope with a painful tattoo session?

  1. Srry 😉 as I was saying I clench my teeth and sing along with the song, in my head of course. But again this really does help. I don’t know much about how the brain works and I would love for someone to tell me why this is so effective. I’ve sat thru 8 tattoos and though they are not huge I really am a big baby and can’t tolerate a hang nail let alone a needle digging at my skin. 😉

    • I think the act of singing even to yourself takes your focus away from what’s going on 🙂
      It’s what works for you that counts!

      Hope you’ve got your next one planned!!!

Post your comments here!

